Kinderdorf Leben

A Runner’s Life

The Merry Month of May

It has been quite sometime since my last post – I Can’t Wait to Run My Next Race.  I usually post an article almost immediately after my race.  But May was different.  After the Southern Race last May 3, 2009 and Pacquiao’s total domination of Hatton, I was ecstatic to the point that I found it difficult to get my thoughts organized and write a post.

Anyway, May will always be a milestone in my running career.  It was in this month that I started to record my runs.  I joined my first race (Active and Fitness Run), I had my first 10k run (Champion’s Run Along the River) and my first lesson in humility – I finished last at the Doc Fit Run just before my birthday.

This year was pretty much different.  I registered a time 1:05:03 at the Southern Race, 1:09:45 at the Botak Paa-Bilisan, 1:03:48 (a 10kPR) at the Botak-Baguio Run and a 1;41:57 (a 16k PR) at the Earth Run.  I have also successfully reached my ideal running weight of 138 lbs from a high of 168 lbs in January 2008.  These would not have been possible without God’s abundant blessings as He made me injury-free the past year.

Southern Race

The Southern Race was more of a run for the cause of children in need.  It was organized by the Alabang Town Center for the benefit of SOS Children’s Villages.  It had a 3k, 5k and 10k segment.   The race was well-attended and went through the streets of Ayala Alabang Village.  The race was more of a community event but never lacked the spirit of intense competition particularly among those vying for top honors.

The 10k event was slightly short because of a sudden decision of the race director to change the route.  Instead of turning right after the Mindanao Avenue gate and then making a U-turn at the Ayala Alabang-Filinvest boundary, runners were made to make a left turn.

It was also the Pacquiao-Hatton fight.  As Barangay Ayala Alabang offered free viewing of the fight live at the covered courts, I passed the word to my Takbo.ph buddies.  We had a great treat – free lugaw and coffee plus the best seats in the house to watch the fight in widescreen.

IMG_0449

IMG_0497

Part of the crowd that watched the fight

Part of the crowd that watched the fight

Crowd cheering when Pacquiao sent Hatton to dreamland

Crowd cheering when Pacquiao sent Hatton to dreamland

84737838MW031_Manny_Pacquia

Botak-Baguio and Sagada

I also had the chance to have a high altitude runs in Baguio and Sagada last May.  I had fun running with my buddies Mon Domingo, Totoy Santos and Roselle Dadal (aka RunningDiva) at the Botak – Baguio Race.  I simply treated this race as a training run where I will just run at a relaxed pace of 7:00 to 7:30 minutes per kilometer.  But the temperature was perfect and I no longer had the usual shortness of breath associated with the thiner air of Baguio.  I felt stronger after I negotiated the first hill so I decided to increase my pace.  Little did I know that I was then running at a pace of 6:00 to 6:30 per kilometer.  I was able to gain much ground and finished the race at 1:03:48.

baguio botak

After the Botak-Baguio Race, I proceeded to Sagada where I stayed for 3 days before going back to Baguio for the return trip to Manila.  It was an adventure and had great runs at the place.

26-05-09_1815

Sagada - a view from St. Mary's Church

St. Mary's Church

St. Mary's Church

Hanging coffins at Sugong, Sagada

Hanging coffins at Sugong, Sagada

Lumiang burial cave

Lumiang burial cave

Sumaging Cave after entry from Sumaging burial cave

Sumaging Cave after entry from Sumaging burial cave

One of the uphill roads I ran

One of the uphill roads I ran

Baguio oval

Baguio oval

The Baguio and Sagada runs prepared me to confidently face the dreaded McKinley Hill and Bayani Road at the Earth Run.  I felt strong throughout the 16k race where I started slow and  gradually increasing my pace as the race progressed for a strong finish.  I started to pass folks whom I never thought that I would and finished the 16k race at 1:41:57 with plenty to spare.

I would not have gone this far without the help and advice of runner friends.  Mon Domingo, the Happy Feet and Takbo.ph people were always there for the carbo loadings, kulitans and gigilans that kept me going.  Jovie Narcise through his blog Bald Runner has always been a source of information and an inspiration for newbies like me.

Too bad May is over but the adventure continues!  Keep on running!

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | Running, Uncategorized | , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. You seem to to be getting pretty fast, Ipe. Keep it up! Hope to see you at Mizuno this Sunday.:-)

    Comment by jazzrunner | June 4, 2009

  2. See you at the starting line Sir Ipe.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

    Comment by m8parco | June 4, 2009

  3. Let’s celebrate by running again. 😀

    Comment by jinoe | June 4, 2009

  4. Sir Felipe. Great that you’re back blogging. Hope everything’s well with you. Have a good weekend!

    Comment by Wayne | June 5, 2009

  5. Congratulations on the PR sir Ipe! We had tremendous fun in Baguio, we should do it again! 🙂 A merry month of May indeed!

    Regards,
    Luis
    http://gingerbreadrunning.blogspot.com/

    Comment by gingerbreadrunning | June 5, 2009

  6. Good to hear from you again, Sir Ipe. It seems you enjoyed the summer running too, especially in baguio, and you’re running is getting better. Keep it up, sir. See you again at the races.

    Comment by run unltd. | June 5, 2009

  7. Hi Sir Ipe,

    If not for your encouraging words last Sunday at Earth Run, I could have walk all the way to the Finish line…your words are warm and real I was able to run faster and beat the guy who sprint with me.

    God Bless!
    Sam
    The Running Ninja
    http://www.therunningninja.com

    Comment by The Running Ninja | June 6, 2009

  8. Hi Sir Ipe,

    If not for your encouraging words last Sunday at Earth Run, I could have walk all the way to the Finish line…your words are warm and real I was able to run faster and beat the guy who sprint with me.

    God Bless!
    Sam
    The Running Ninja

    Comment by The Running Ninja | June 6, 2009

  9. Lean, Mean, Running Machine1 Regards Sir Ipe!

    Comment by deldude | June 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

