Kinderdorf Leben

A Runner’s Life

2,000 kms Logged

Last week, I attended our 24th Senior Co-Workers’ Meeting at our SOS Children’s Village facility in Zarraga,  a third class municipality in the province of Iloilo.  Zarraga is a sleepy town 16 kms from Iloilo City which is famous for its “Pantat” (Catfish in English or Hito in Tagalog).  Zarraga Pantat is reputed to be the tastiest in the Philippines and if properly prepared, its skin can be as crispy as freshly roasted lechon de leche.  It is also here that you can buy one sack of talaba or oysters for only P150.00.

Waiting Shed proudly announcing Zarraga as "Pantat Country"

Waiting Shed proudly announcing Zarraga as "Pantat Country"

Zarraga town hall or 'presidencia"

Zarraga town hall or 'presidencia"

The gastronomic delights of Zarraga gave me a good reason to run in order to burn the excess calories.  Otherwise, I will have to suffer the consequences.

I only had two runs in Zarraga.  My first run was a leisurely run along the highway to Barotac Nuevo and back where I logged in 9.11 kms in 1:06.  The second was a faster paced run at the town plaza which had a circumference of 410 meters.  I had a warm up of 400meters @ 2:51, a 4km run at 25:33 and a cool down jog of 1.09 km at 7:31.  It was at the Zarraga town plaza that I completed my 2,000th kilometer!

SOS Children’s Village – Iloilo is our seventh facility in the Philippines.  The other facilities are in Lipa, Alabang, Calbayog, Davao, Cebu and Tacloban.  Our 8th facility is SOS Bataan, which is located in Mariveles.  SOS Iloilo  has 12 family houses headed by a house Mother who has 10 children under her care, a Social Center for our community outreach programs, a Kindergarten School for the poor children in the community and a Youth facility for our boys who are at least 13 years old.  The Youth facility prepares our boys for independent living.

Facade of SOS Iloilo

Facade of SOS Iloilo

The 12 Family Houses of SOS Children's Village Iloilo

SOS Children's Village Iloilo - 12 Family Houses

Typical Family House that has 10 children headed by an SOS Mother

Typical Family House that has 10 children headed by an SOS Mother

The Youth Facility that houses boys over 13 years old.

The Youth Facility that houses boys over 13 years old.

SOS Social Center and Kindergarten

SOS Social Center and Kindergarten

Having completed 2,000 kms. I decided to reward myself with this Garmin Foreruner 305.  I could have gotten the 405 or the 310 but the 305 has better reviews than the 405.  I can’t wait to test my 305.

My new running aide - Garmin Forerunner 305

My new running aide - Garmin Forerunner 305

See you fellas at the races!  Keep on running.

June 16, 2009 Posted by | Running, Uncategorized | 9 Comments